General Book Search for "9780552162517"

Mistress of My Fate: By the award-winning and Sunday Times bestselling author of THE FIVE

Paperback
ISBN : 9780552162517
Price : €11.49


Description

By the bestselling winner of the 2019 Baillie Gifford Prize: THE FIVE: THE WOMEN KILLED BY JACK THE RIPPER

For fans of The Crown, Dowton Abbey and Poldark

Georgian England, 1789.



By the bestselling winner of the 2019 Baillie Gifford Prize: THE FIVE: THE WOMEN KILLED BY JACK THE RIPPER For fans of The Crown, Dowton Abbey and Poldark Georgian England, 1789. Under a cloud of scandal, Henrietta Lightfoot flees her home at Melmouth Park. She has little money and no worthwhile talents, for what use is a neat stitch and a pretty voice outside the drawing room? Without family support, her only hope of survival lies with the dashing but elusive Lord Allenham... In a quest to find him, Henrietta embarks on a journey through London's debauched and glittering underworld, where she discovers more about her own mysterious past than she could have imagined. With the aid of new-found skills at the card table and on the stage, will Henrietta be able to turn her life around? 'A remarkable picture of a fascinating age' DAILY EXPRESS



Reviews