General Book Search for "9781784162153"

The French Lesson: By the award-winning and Sunday Times bestselling author of THE FIVE

Paperback
ISBN : 9781784162153
Price : €10.34


Description

A mesmerising novel of female espionage and intrigue during the French Revolution, by the Sunday Times bestselling author of THE FIVE: THE WOMEN KILLED BY JACK THE RIPPER:

'A riveting novel of female intrigue, betrayal and revenge in the French Revolution.



A mesmerising novel of female espionage and intrigue during the French Revolution, by the Sunday Times bestselling author of THE FIVE: THE WOMEN KILLED BY JACK THE RIPPER: 'A riveting novel of female intrigue, betrayal and revenge in the French Revolution. Read it!' LUCY WORSLEY For fans of 'The Crown, Downton Abbey and Poldark PARIS, 1792 : It was a head, but one so bloodied, so rolled in filth, that it was scarcely recognisable but for its long red curls. It had been stuck on a pike like a lump of bread upon a toasting fork ... Henrietta Lightfoot trips on her silk gown as she runs for her life along the bloodstained streets of revolutionary Paris. She finds refuge in the lavish home of Grace Dalyrmple Elliott, one of the old regime's most powerful courtesans. But heads are beginning to roll. Outside, the guillotine mercilessly claims its victims, while inside society's gilded salons, Henrietta becomes a pawn in a vicious power game. How will she survive in a world where no one can be trusted? 'A gleefully modern retelling of a juicy chapter in history' The Times 'Rubenhold unfolds a complicated plot with great dexterity' Sunday Times 'Compelling, operatic, modern' SIMON SEBAG MONTEFIORE 'Dark and delicious' Red Magazine



Reviews